Praise Whistlers Abroad
http://praisewhistlers.org/forum/

Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
http://praisewhistlers.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=4837
Page 2 of 2

Author:  jrc [ Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

ConnieS wrote:
Sorry--I'm having problems in XP. :?


so much for the Vista theory - do you actually use Audacity for tracks?

Author:  Judy K [ Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

FWIW, I downloaded the 1.2.4 version and the wobble seems to be gone. It does recognize the Samson microphone but records at a extremely low volume with it. Barely causes a bump in the line. The MacMic I used before is also recognized by this version of Audacity. It records normally, but has a 'crackling' that is most likely inherent in the mike due to the lousy way I stored it :oops: when it wasn't 'working'.

So, the 1.2.4 version (as opposed to the 1.2.5 version) of Audacity removes most of the problems I've had. The rest will just take some minor adjustments on my end .... I hope. Thanks to Jim (Wasson) for the suggestion and the link! :thumbsup:

Author:  jrc [ Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

=D> Cool! so we get to hear more clips? \:D/

Author:  jrc [ Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

FWIW - I just looked and I am using 1.2.6 w/ XP Pro & XP Amateur ( :mrgreen: Home).

Author:  ConnieS [ Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

Judy, that recording level sounds awefully low. Do you get lots of room noise with it?

To bump it up, go to effects, click amplify, and let it choose its defult level. Then slide down just below default, and you should hopefully have decent level. But with the record level that low, unfortunately, I imagine you'd probably have too much room noise. Still, you're closer with the older version than you were with the newer one.

Author:  Judy K [ Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

Connie, I usually put my recordings at -3 dB through 'amplify'. Two things popped into my mind on quiet recording levels, not sure which one you are referring to so I tried to cover both. ;)

If this is what you mean about a quiet recording .... With The King of Love (song linked in an earlier post) and Audacity 1.2.5 I tried 3 times to set it at that level and it always reverted back to the quiet version. So I gave up on it. Looks like I can amplify it & save it with the 1.2.4 version of Audacity. (Working on that as I type.) The song was another that was originally recorded on the H2 and imported to Audacity. Maybe I have a setting on the H2 screwy. It is basically left on the defaults.

.... oh yeah, there is usually some background noise where I record ... window A/C on the other side of the room, mainly. However I don't noticed any more noise in that recording than normal ... for me.

If you mean the recording level I got with the Samson mike ... I don't know what's with that. There is a much better recording level with the built in microphone. Never seen that happen and haven't a clue as to how to fix it. Using amplify on that would probably bring up the crickets in the back yard. :shock: :D

Author:  ConnieS [ Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

Okay, on your Zoom, look on the side of the unit. There's a slide that works between L, M and H. Make sure it's not on L. Incidentally, I almost never use H because it almost always distorts. Low is usually fine if I'm playing directly into it. M is more for recording a whole room. But maybe medium might work for you, if you're not already using that setting.

Author:  Judy K [ Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

Just checked. The side switch is set at "M". Zoom question ... right now the "recording level" (and I don't know what that is either ... big shock, huh! ;) ) is set at 115. Is that good, bad or indifferent?

Author:  ConnieS [ Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

I don't know. You might try turning it up just to see what happens. :P

Can it go any higher?

Author:  Judy K [ Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

The range for recording level is 0-127. (127 seems like an odd stopping spot ... why not 130 or 150?) Don't think I changed it from the default settings much if at all.

Author:  fancypiper [in Heaven] [ Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

It's a digital thing. One more step and it would require another bit of info.. :coffee:

Author:  jrc [ Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

fancypiper wrote:
It's a digital thing. One more step and it would require another bit of info.. :coffee:


Thanks piper! I was wondering about that the other day.

Author:  RonKiley [ Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

I'm glad I saw this post. I need to check and see if my mic works with Windows 7. It should but that is not a sure thing. My Samson worked great until I dropped it. I am now using a CAD U1 because it was cheaper and there were no Samsons available at the time. I guess I will go check it out with W7.

Author:  RonKiley [ Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

OK, I checked it in W7. It downloaded new drivers. I then went to Audacity and it worked fine. I then decided to play with the level setting to see what I could do. If I am up close zero is fine. If I want to be a little further away I can boost it a little or a whole lot. The level setting is found by right clicking the Volume icon then left click recording device. Double click the device in the menu. In the new menu select levels. It will allow you to set a recording level.

Author:  Judy K [ Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"

I'll have to give that a try, Ron. I'd really like to use the Samson mike. I tried using the H2 as a mike. It worked but I couldn't hear it. The playback went through the H2 instead of the computer. Can't hear the H2 without earphones ... and using the earphones gave me a tiny delay in what was heard as to what was being recorded. That delay really screwed things (my mind for one ... ;)) up when I tried to add a track. There has to be a setting I'm missing somewhere.

If I can't get the Samson to work right, I'm sending it your way.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/