Login    
   Praise Whistlers Abroad
   Home Page: praisewhistlers.org
    Register FAQ  •  Search    
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Jump to:  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: USB Microphones
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:25 am
Posts: 66
Location: Ohio
Can anyone tell me more about Microphones that connect into the USB port?

My brother showed me a magazine that had a couple in it.

Waiting for him to email me ifn there be a website to go to.

Was wondering if anyone ever used those Mics before.

Would it work with Audacity?

Laura

_________________
Life is a learning adventure... you can never know it all

http://www.myspace.com/eveningroses
http://www.myspace.com/foothillsoh


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:12 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Mead, OK
I've heard good things about these, but never tried them or heard any clips. Looks like a good price and excellent frequency response for the money. Although they were made specifically for MAC computers, they will work with Windows machines.

http://www.mac-pro.com/s.nl/it.A/id.1896/.f?sc=2&category=334

_________________
"What is the chief end of man? ...to glorify God, and to enjoy Him forever."

Gary


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:39 am
Posts: 471
Location: Laie, Hawaii
I use this for the clips I post on Praise Exchange and on the web in general. Seems to do well enough and it works with Audacity.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... 2416829&cp

_________________
Keith


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 5:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:23 pm
Posts: 491
I use a plantronics GameCom Pro 1 to record all my whistle at the moment. hooks right into the USB port no problemo


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Germantown, MD
I use the same one that Keith uses but mine is not USB. It plugs into the microphone input on the audio card. I got mine for $1.00 at a clearance table.

_________________
Ron
This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.
Psalms 118:24


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:25 am
Posts: 66
Location: Ohio
http://www.x-tremegeek.com/templates/searchdetail.asp?productID=12262

My brother sent me the link to the store.

Lots of neat stuff to browse through.

Above is the link to the mic that I am considering.

There is another one at this store.

Any comments?

Laura

_________________
Life is a learning adventure... you can never know it all

http://www.myspace.com/eveningroses
http://www.myspace.com/foothillsoh


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:25 am
Posts: 66
Location: Ohio
Of course then there is the other one that you can locate at the bottom of the page that has a preamp. That has been one of my problems with recording with this new soundcard. I need an amp for the speakers and microphone. So perhaps this one ....????

Laura

_________________
Life is a learning adventure... you can never know it all

http://www.myspace.com/eveningroses
http://www.myspace.com/foothillsoh


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:52 pm
Posts: 633
Location: Colorado, USA
foothillsOH wrote:
Of course then there is the other one that you can locate at the bottom of the page that has a preamp. That has been one of my problems with recording with this new soundcard. I need an amp for the speakers and microphone.

Your computer speakers won't run off the sound card without an amp? That seems odd.

The one at the bottom of the page is a dynamic mic; the one at the top is a condenser mic.

I'm looking at that same condenser mic for my sister-in-law who does a lot of radio voice work and needs a better mic for her home studio.

Typically, condenser mics are much more sensitive and have a better frequency response than dynamic mics, however they require 48v of phantom power (from the sound board or from a separate in-line power supply) and they break a lot easier. You can use a Shure SM58 for a hammer, and it will still work out on the road. That's why many band vocal mics are dynamic mics like the SM58. But to reproduce even more subtle nuances of certain instruments or for voice-over work, the condenser is preferred.

As I understand it, this new type of USB condenser mic does not require a phantom power unit; it gets its power right from the computer.

My guess is that it would be more mic than you really need, but hey, I have a Shure Beta 58 and that's more than I need. :mrgreen: If you don't mind spending a little more, I bet it would be a great mic.

Kitty

_________________
"I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster;
I, the LORD, do all these things."
Isaiah 45:7 NIV


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:22 am
Posts: 1192
Location: Rodhope Mountains, Greece
Kitty

My flute mic is also a Shure Beta 58 but I use Susan's Sony ECM-MS907 on the computer. How can I use my Shure with the computer? Is that possible?

An answer could be worth some creamy British milk chocolate.


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1263
KittyR wrote:
I'm looking at that same condenser mic for my sister-in-law who does a lot of radio voice work and needs a better mic for her home studio.


Your sister-in-law does VO work? Small world. I do VO work. Used to be full time in radio until the kids came along. Now I work about an hour a day on commercials and weather. I'd love to have a home studio and an agent. :mrgreen: In addition to teaching!? What am I thinking?

And I also recommend a condenser mic over a dynamic. If you're respectful of your own property and can be careful with it. And if you have the phantom power to push it. Some condenser mics run on 9 volt batteries, but if you're using your mic a lot, that's no good. It could get costly.

_________________
Religion requires, grace enables.
http://realgodseekers.blogspot.com/


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1263
I DO have a question. If you plug into your USB port, what input do you use in Audacity? Would the "line in" still work? And is this using your sound card or bypassing it somehow?

_________________
Religion requires, grace enables.
http://realgodseekers.blogspot.com/


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:52 pm
Posts: 633
Location: Colorado, USA
ConnieS wrote:
Your sister-in-law does VO work? Small world. I do VO work. Used to be full time in radio until the kids came along.

That is precisely the same story for her as well. :)

_________________
"I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster;
I, the LORD, do all these things."
Isaiah 45:7 NIV


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 7:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 4:52 pm
Posts: 633
Location: Colorado, USA
Adrian wrote:
How can I use my Shure with the computer? Is that possible?

Of course. See page 3 of this document.

_________________
"I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster;
I, the LORD, do all these things."
Isaiah 45:7 NIV


 Profile  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:25 am
Posts: 66
Location: Ohio
ConnieS wrote:
I DO have a question. If you plug into your USB port, what input do you use in Audacity? Would the "line in" still work? And is this using your sound card or bypassing it somehow?


Now that is the question I am dieing to know as well before I invest.

If I am correct usb mics records digital not analog.
Thus I am thinking that the sound card would be bypassed... right?


Quote:
Your computer speakers won't run off the sound card without an amp? That seems odd.


Sigh, it will run, however, it no longer has the volume.

What happened.. first this is a ME system... lol that might explain a lot.
Second, I installed Cakewalk with the original sound card. Had problems with the program from the get go. Computer Crashed soon after that. We did a lot of gaming on this computer as well. Took it to a repair shop. They installed a Sound blaster sound card compatable with gaming and Cakewalk. Ever since then I cannot record with full volume and listen with the speakers at regular volume.

The guy at the store then told me that perhaps I needed amped speakers.
So, I gave the speakers to my husband, (who built his own computer) and started using headphones. Which works for the better, now I can work on music on the computer anytime without disturbing folks around the house.

Ya it's odd, should have made a big stink about it at the repair shop, however, that is not in my nature and I have made do.

Laura

_________________
Life is a learning adventure... you can never know it all

http://www.myspace.com/eveningroses
http://www.myspace.com/foothillsoh


 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group