Login    
   Praise Whistlers Abroad
   Home Page: praisewhistlers.org
    Register FAQ  •  Search    
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:02 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Jump to:  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 829
Location: Richmond, VA
ConnieS wrote:
Sorry--I'm having problems in XP. :?


so much for the Vista theory - do you actually use Audacity for tracks?

_________________
Behold, as for the proud one, His soul is not right within him; But the righteous will live by his faith.
Habbakuk 2:4


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 852
Location: Southern Ohio
FWIW, I downloaded the 1.2.4 version and the wobble seems to be gone. It does recognize the Samson microphone but records at a extremely low volume with it. Barely causes a bump in the line. The MacMic I used before is also recognized by this version of Audacity. It records normally, but has a 'crackling' that is most likely inherent in the mike due to the lousy way I stored it :oops: when it wasn't 'working'.

So, the 1.2.4 version (as opposed to the 1.2.5 version) of Audacity removes most of the problems I've had. The rest will just take some minor adjustments on my end .... I hope. Thanks to Jim (Wasson) for the suggestion and the link! :thumbsup:


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 829
Location: Richmond, VA
=D> Cool! so we get to hear more clips? \:D/

_________________
Behold, as for the proud one, His soul is not right within him; But the righteous will live by his faith.
Habbakuk 2:4


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 829
Location: Richmond, VA
FWIW - I just looked and I am using 1.2.6 w/ XP Pro & XP Amateur ( :mrgreen: Home).

_________________
Behold, as for the proud one, His soul is not right within him; But the righteous will live by his faith.
Habbakuk 2:4


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1263
Judy, that recording level sounds awefully low. Do you get lots of room noise with it?

To bump it up, go to effects, click amplify, and let it choose its defult level. Then slide down just below default, and you should hopefully have decent level. But with the record level that low, unfortunately, I imagine you'd probably have too much room noise. Still, you're closer with the older version than you were with the newer one.

_________________
Religion requires, grace enables.
http://realgodseekers.blogspot.com/


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 852
Location: Southern Ohio
Connie, I usually put my recordings at -3 dB through 'amplify'. Two things popped into my mind on quiet recording levels, not sure which one you are referring to so I tried to cover both. ;)

If this is what you mean about a quiet recording .... With The King of Love (song linked in an earlier post) and Audacity 1.2.5 I tried 3 times to set it at that level and it always reverted back to the quiet version. So I gave up on it. Looks like I can amplify it & save it with the 1.2.4 version of Audacity. (Working on that as I type.) The song was another that was originally recorded on the H2 and imported to Audacity. Maybe I have a setting on the H2 screwy. It is basically left on the defaults.

.... oh yeah, there is usually some background noise where I record ... window A/C on the other side of the room, mainly. However I don't noticed any more noise in that recording than normal ... for me.

If you mean the recording level I got with the Samson mike ... I don't know what's with that. There is a much better recording level with the built in microphone. Never seen that happen and haven't a clue as to how to fix it. Using amplify on that would probably bring up the crickets in the back yard. :shock: :D


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1263
Okay, on your Zoom, look on the side of the unit. There's a slide that works between L, M and H. Make sure it's not on L. Incidentally, I almost never use H because it almost always distorts. Low is usually fine if I'm playing directly into it. M is more for recording a whole room. But maybe medium might work for you, if you're not already using that setting.

_________________
Religion requires, grace enables.
http://realgodseekers.blogspot.com/


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 852
Location: Southern Ohio
Just checked. The side switch is set at "M". Zoom question ... right now the "recording level" (and I don't know what that is either ... big shock, huh! ;) ) is set at 115. Is that good, bad or indifferent?


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 1263
I don't know. You might try turning it up just to see what happens. :P

Can it go any higher?

_________________
Religion requires, grace enables.
http://realgodseekers.blogspot.com/


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:59 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 852
Location: Southern Ohio
The range for recording level is 0-127. (127 seems like an odd stopping spot ... why not 130 or 150?) Don't think I changed it from the default settings much if at all.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 141
Location: Sparta. NC USA
It's a digital thing. One more step and it would require another bit of info.. :coffee:


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 829
Location: Richmond, VA
fancypiper wrote:
It's a digital thing. One more step and it would require another bit of info.. :coffee:


Thanks piper! I was wondering about that the other day.

_________________
Behold, as for the proud one, His soul is not right within him; But the righteous will live by his faith.
Habbakuk 2:4


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Germantown, MD
I'm glad I saw this post. I need to check and see if my mic works with Windows 7. It should but that is not a sure thing. My Samson worked great until I dropped it. I am now using a CAD U1 because it was cheaper and there were no Samsons available at the time. I guess I will go check it out with W7.

_________________
Ron
This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.
Psalms 118:24


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:35 pm
Posts: 295
Location: Germantown, MD
OK, I checked it in W7. It downloaded new drivers. I then went to Audacity and it worked fine. I then decided to play with the level setting to see what I could do. If I am up close zero is fine. If I want to be a little further away I can boost it a little or a whole lot. The level setting is found by right clicking the Volume icon then left click recording device. Double click the device in the menu. In the new menu select levels. It will allow you to set a recording level.

_________________
Ron
This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.
Psalms 118:24


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Vista-compatible USB microphone? "Another Question"
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:20 pm
Posts: 852
Location: Southern Ohio
I'll have to give that a try, Ron. I'd really like to use the Samson mike. I tried using the H2 as a mike. It worked but I couldn't hear it. The playback went through the H2 instead of the computer. Can't hear the H2 without earphones ... and using the earphones gave me a tiny delay in what was heard as to what was being recorded. That delay really screwed things (my mind for one ... ;)) up when I tried to add a track. There has to be a setting I'm missing somewhere.

If I can't get the Samson to work right, I'm sending it your way.


 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group